September 10, 2019

HEXCO gets new council

Spread the love

Leroy Dzenga
The Zimbabwe Higher Education Examinations Council (HEXCO) new council was on Monday unveiled under a new format.

The new HEXCO council members are; Dr Lazarus Nembaware (Chair), Engineer Sebastian Marume, Simplisio Shamba, Michael Munodawafa, Lynette Masiwa, Francis Zindere, Farai Mchiya-Mabhiza, Johnson Kamhara, Wikirefu Sonono, Dr Perkins Muredzi, Dr Rangarirai Dadirai and Albert Chiketa.

Speaking at the commissioning ceremony, Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development Minister, Professor Amon Murwira said the new council should utilise its independence.

“We have picked you as professionals in industry to produce the kind of graduates you would want to see in industry. Industry was always complaining about the calibre of graduates and we decided to include you industrialists in the process of producing skilled labour for industry,” said Professor Murwira.

The council was also tasked with reducing the country’s skills deficit as one of its core mandates.

“When we conducted our critical skills audit, we found that Zimbabwe has over 94 percent literacy rate and around 38 percent average skills rate. We need to fix this and you, HEXCO are central to the
strategy. Government has to have graduates who have skills that can be turned to goods and services,” Professor Murwira added.

Previously Zimbabwe Council For Higher Education councils comprised of the Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development Permanent Secretary and college principals.

Leave a Reply