September 15, 2020

Khupe expels eight Bulawayo councillors

Spread the love

ZTN Correspondent

Zimbabwe’s opposition MDC-T party has expelled eight councillors in the country’s second largest city, Bulawayo.

This brings the number of expelled councillors to 13.

In a statement on Tuesday, Local Government and Public Works Minister July Moyo said, “l wish to inform you that l am in receipt of a letter from the Movement for Democratic Change (T) stating that the following have been expelled from the party: Clayton Zana (Ward 19), Tinevimbo Maposa (Ward 21), Ernest Rafamoyo (Ward 20), Donald Mabuto (Ward 9), Tinashe Kambarami (Ward 3), Lillian Mlilo (Ward 12), Concilia Mlalazi (Ward 18) and Norman Hlabano (Ward 26).”

The party has been axing members who refused to recognise a Supreme Court judgment that declared Dr Thokozani Khupe interim party leader.

In April, Supreme Court Judge Justice Bharat Patel, sitting with Justices Paddington Garwe and Antonia Guvava, ruled that Advocate Nelson Chamisa is not the legitimate MDC leader in terms of the party’s constitution and subsequently ordered the convening of an extraordinary congress to elect a new president.

The decision by the superior court settled the acrimonious MDC leadership wrangle pitting Advocate Chamisa and Dr Khupe.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: