August 6, 2019

Namibia and Nigeria replace Zimbabwe in T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Spread the love

Hanganani Nleya

THE International Cricket Council has replaced Zimbabwe with Namibia in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers which get underway in Scotland later this month (August).

The ICC suspended Zimbabwe for alleged failure to keep the sport free from Government interference.

In a statement released on their website, the ICC said Namibia step into the frame by virtue of their finishing spot in the Africa regional pathway, having lost the final of the women’s African Qualifier to Zimbabwe. This maintains the balance of regional representation in the global qualifying events.

Namibia will join hosts Scotland, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Thailand and USA to compete for the two remaining spots at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

Meanwhile in the men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, Nigeria will take the 14th and final spot in place of suspended Zimbabwe when the event gets underway in the United Arab Emirates in October. Nigeria will join hosts UAE, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jersey, Kenya, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Singapore and two teams from the Americas final to be held later this month.

Nigeria came third in the Africa Men’s Final and as such become the third African team in the global qualifier together with Kenya and Namibia, again retaining the regional representation for the event.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: