February 10, 2022

Only Four Zim Permanent Secretaries Achieve Targets

Spread the love

Takudzwa Chihambakwe

Only four permanent secretaries in Zimbabwe met targets set in contracts they signed in 2021.

The four are Dr John Basera, Dr Thokozile Chitepo, Professor Fanuel Tagwira and finance secretary, George Guvamatanga.

“To those of our hard working secretaries whose stars appeared to come short by a few lumens, our rallying call is to shine brighter colleagues for that iridescence is indeed in you. We all want you to allow us the privilege of seeing more of it in the future,” said Public Service Commission chairperson, Vincent Hungwe.

Meanwhile, President Emmerson Mnangagwa has challenged cabinet ministers, permanent secretaries and chief executives of parastatals to be innovative as they serve in their various fields.

The President said this during the signing ceremony of performance contracts by the aforementioned leaders in the capital on Thursday.

“In the fast changing local and global environment, the culture of innovation must be an integral component of our public sector,” said President Mnangagwa.

“I therefore exhort you all to unleash transformative leadership qualities, skill sets and competences towards changing the fortunes of our people and country at large.

“As leadership in the public sector I urge you to always think outside the box by infusing best practices and innovative solutions to propel and sustain our institutions as engines for accelerated industrialization, modernization and sustainable economic growth.”

The President said contracts will ensure efficiency.

“The performance contracts being signed today are part of my government's efforts to put an end to mediocre performance and service delivery which have in the past curtailed our success as a country,” he shared.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: