September 24, 2019

Rapinoe, Messi win FIFA player of the year awards

Spread the love

Lionel Messi won his sixth FIFA player of the year award, while Megan Rapinoe won her first at a ceremony in the Italian city of Milan on Monday.

Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona and Argentina
speaks during The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 in Milan, Italy, on Sept 23, 2019. [Photo/VCG]

Rapinoe was rewarded at the FIFA Best awards for leading the United States to the women’s World Cup title in July, as was Jill Ellis who won the women’s coach award.

Rapinoe scored six goals in the tournament, earning her the Golden Boot for the tournament’s top scorer and the Golden Ball as the top player.

Messi’s award moved the Barcelona and Argentina forward one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo. The Juventus forward did not attend the ceremony despite being among the three finalists.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: