February 17, 2020

Tigers make changes ahead of Chevrons tour

Spread the love

Mugove Chigada

BANGLADESH have made four changesfrom the squad that faced Pakistan this month as they seek to give some youngsters a run against visiting Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh face Zimbabwe from 22 to 26 in February in a one off test match in Dhaka.

The two teams will again clash in three-match one-day international series on March 1, 3 and 6 in Syhlet.

Two Twenty20 international games set for 9 and 11 March in Dhaka will wrap-up the tour.

“The players left out are batsmen Mahmud Ullah and Soumya Sarker and pacers Rubel Hossain and Al-Amin Hossain. Mushfiqur Rahim returns to the side after opting out of the Test against Pakistan,” Bangladesh Cricket Board confirmed on their official website.

“Off-spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz is also back after recovering from an injury while there are recalls for left-arm paceman Mustafizur Rahman and fellow speedster Taskin Ahmed. The uncapped cricketers in the squad are batsman Yasir Ali Chowdhury and fast bowler Hasan Mahmud.”

The changes come at a time when their Under 19 cricket players, who recently won the ICC World Cup in South Africa, are knocking on the door to play for the national team.

Already, six of those World Cup winners were named in their BCB XI to face Zimbabwe in a practice match on February 18 to 19.

Although this is a natural progression for the young Bangladesh cricketers, it is expected that the majority of them will soon break into the national squad.

BCB National Selection Panel chairman Minhajul Abedin has been preaching continuity.

“I believe we have selected the best possible Test squad under present circumstances. There is a very nice blend of experience and potential,” he was quoted as saying.

“It is unfortunate that some players had to miss out but our priority has been to ensure balance and continuity. We felt that Mahmud Ullah needed a break from the red ball. Al-Amin has niggles and that’s why we thought he should be given the time to be fully ready for the limited overs matches where he is more important. Rubel is not part of our red ball plans for the moment. Soumya had applied for a leave and therefore has not been considered.

“We think Hasan Mahmud and Yasir Ali Chowdhury have tremendous potential and they are very much part of our future plans.”

Zimbabwe on the other hand will be led by Graig Ervine in the absence of captain Sean Williams.

Williams pulled out of the squad to be with his wife who is expecting to give birth at the same time that Zimbabwe will be playing the test match.

The Zimbabwe captain will then join the rest of the squad for the ODIs and T20s.


Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Kumar Das, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Yasir ali Chowdhury.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: