May 19, 2021

Zim leader appoints five Constitutional Court judges

Spread the love

Milton Sasa

Zimbabwe’s President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed five new judges to the Constitutional Court.

Justices Paddington Garwe, Rita Makarau, Anne-Marie Gowora, Bharat Patel and Ben Hlatshwayo will be sworn in on Thursday in the Capital Harare.

Their appointment is meant to complete the seven member panel which makes up the Constitutional Court bench.

The other two are the Chief Justice and the Deputy Chief Justice.

Secretary of the Judicial Service Commission Walter Chikwanha confirmed the appointments.

Chikwanha said, “According to the constitution the Constitutional Court bench is supposed to have seven sitting judges. Among them the Chief Justice and his deputy, so these five come in to complete that panel of judges”.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: